• The Signal
  • Posts
  • A quick note on burnout, and how to avoid it.

A quick note on burnout, and how to avoid it.

Burnout is inevitable if you're in service to yourself.

Since starting Metav3rse a little over a year and a half ago, I have worked as hard as I ever have in my life. Seemingly every waking minute of every day. Even when I’m not physically working, I am ideating, brainstorming – strategizing.

I have created an immeasurable amount of content, spent thousands of hours engaging with the community, building products, leading multiple businesses – all while constantly fending off attacks by frauds. Which is a story for another day.

I have also not yet made a dime from Metav3rse, Eluna, MV3, nor my personal brand. I have been able to generate a lot of capital for others – but myself? I am down almost $400,000 of personal investment into bringing my vision to life.

No problem. Don’t feel sorry for me. I think it will all work out in the end.

The point is, the old me would have burned out a long time ago.

I have burned out before. It’s very difficult to climb out of.

But today, I wake up every day ready to go harder than the last.

So, what changed?

I think there’s one major difference here.

I am doing it in service to others.

Listen closely. If you are doing it for your own personal benefit – with quantifiable metrics as the north star. You will burn out.

No matter how good you are, no matter how much momentum you have – nothing goes up and to the right forever.

If you’re creating content and happen to catch a hot streak on a particular schtick or attention wave, the velocity of your engagement WILL eventually cool off.

If your subscribers, retention, MRR, etc of your product is growing rapidly, it WILL eventually peak, and cool off.

THIS is why many creators and entrepreneurs burn out. They don’t see – or stop seeing – results.

When you’re in service to yourself, you are susceptible to burn out.

When you’re in service to others, there is a certain energy that comes to you. It’s powerful.

I am in service to my wife, to my family, to my close friends. To my beautiful daughter I have on the way. To my community. To God. I know in my heart that if I win, those around me will win. And that’s all the motivation I need.

Find your WHY.

Work out every day.

Be absolutely relentless.

And never give up.

It doesn’t matter if you fail or your succeed. If you succeed, you gain confidence. If you fail, you gain resilience. All that matters is that you stay in the game.

I’m rooting for you.