• The Signal
  • Posts
  • Social Media Trends to Keep an Eye On the Rest of 2023

Social Media Trends to Keep an Eye On the Rest of 2023

Here's what I think is trending upwards... and downwards.

Content continues to reign as KING. There is no better customer acquisition strategy than good content.

I will continue to make it my mission to onboard people into the business of creating. Not only because I believe we all have an inherent desire to express ourselves, but because the opportunities this decade will present to good content creators are endless.

Those with the ability to create good content, consistently, will be highly sought after this decade.

Below are some hot trends I’m seeing, as well as trends that I think are losing steam.

Edutainment

Trending Upward ↗

This is the type of content I generally create. I aim to educate and entertain simultaneously. More and more, people want their information filtered through people they trust, instead of faceless media brands.

I’ve noticed this on socials, as large faceless media brands (like @rap, @pubity, etc.) have began recruiting creators to create original content on their behalf.

I think this will continue to become a widespread trend through the rest of the year, especially since educational content is what is on most brand’s minds when partnering with creators.

Podcast Shorts

Trending Downward ↘

You know the type of content I am talking about. It’s inescapable at this point: the talking heads in front of the Shure SM7B with the copy/paste ‘Hormozi’ style subtitles.

It has been an incredibly effective and popular format, but I think it begins to lose steam – fast – throughout the second half of this year.

The reason? Barrier to entry. It’s very easy to create this type of content. And when a certain style or technique proliferates through social media, it’s usually a tell-tale sign that it’s on the tail-end of its effectiveness.

‘Medium-form’ Content

Trending Upward ↗

TikTok has began to prioritize 1 minute + long videos. They realized what YouTube realized - it’s very difficult to monetize short videos.

No one wants to be served a 15 second ad for a 5 second video.

The new TikTok Creativity Program pays a pretty decent RPM (revenue per 1,000 views) for videos that are at least a minute long.

I’ve been seeing creators earn from $0.50 to $1.50 on average per thousand views, depending on content, location, etc. – which is fantastic for short-form.

YouTube average is around $3.50.

Facebook Reels

Trending Upward ↗

Facebook is still the most-used social media platform in the world. It recently eclipsed 3 billion active users - which is absurd.

Recently, I switched my personal Facebook over to a creator page to experiment with sharing my reels there simultaneous to Instagram.

I’ll report back with data once I gather a large enough sample set to determine if there is an arbitrage opportunity here.

‘Niching Down’

Trending Downward ↘

We’re used to hearing that the only way to be successful on social media is to “niche down.” This has proven to be sound advice, and is still an effective strategy.

But creators are realizing how limiting and boring this can be.

Modern algorithms serve you content from creators you don’t follow.

So, if you’re interested in more than one thing, don’t limit yourself.

You want your audience to become interested in you and your brain.

Not just the niche you’re serving.

That’s it for now. I’m also closely monitoring the progress of Meta’s secret text-based platform. I had a meeting with Instagram where they showed me the product.

I have to keep hush on it for now, but I will create an in-depth video about it when I am allowed to do so.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for supporting.

If you find value out of this newsletter, please consider sharing with a friend. Would really appreciate that! My goal is to bring you nothing but value in just a few minutes of your time per week. No spam, no BS – ever.

Until next time,

Roberto